top of page
Search
Writer's pictureMegan Joseph

Long Distance Relationship(s)

I've been in a long distance relationship with my boyfriend for almost one year now. But now, I'm in a long distance relationship with Jesus too. In a strange way, the past month of being in a lock down has really made me think about what I can learn from my #LDR and apply to my spiritual life.


Me praying at the Holy Door of Saint Mary's Basilica, my home parish in Halifax, NS

Communicate

Communication is key. It's cliche - but it's true. When you can't physically be with the person you love, communication is all you have. So talk to Jesus - and let Him speak to you in the Scriptures. Tell Him that you miss Him. Pray with vulnerability.


Schedule Time

Most public Masses have been cancelled. However, bishops are still encouraging us to keep Sunday holy in other ways. Perhaps you have watched Mass online, meditated on the readings, or worshiped with song. I have found it very helpful to continue setting aside a specific time to pray each day, but especially on Sundays. Just like in a dating relationship, finding time to spend together is important because it won't happen otherwise. Be intentional. Put your prayer time in your calendar and honour it the same way you would date night - Jesus deserves that much.


Be Creative

Speaking of date night, I have become an expert at video call date nights. There are a lot of ways to make someone feel loved when you don't live in the same city like sending flowers, letters, or ordering their favourite food to be delivered to their house. We can also be creative in our spiritual lives right now! Can't attend Mass? Pray outside of your church - Jesus is still there in the tabernacle. Prayer feeling dry? Add a spiritual book. (I recommend Consoling the Heart of Jesus!) Missing fellowship? Pray with your friends online.


Hope

Anyone is a long distance relationship will tell you that they count down the days until they will see their significant other again. Having something to look forward to brings you out of a difficult moment by focusing on the future; the end goal. Long distance will not last forever and neither will this pandemic.


"I have much to write you, but I do not want to do so with pen and ink. I hope to see you soon, and we will talk face to face." - 3 John 1:13-14

Can you imagine what that Mass will be like? The first public Mass when this is all over? It will be a glorious day - probably a foretaste of heaven itself. I imagine that the choir will be a bit rusty from not having practiced in a while but no one will care. I imagine that people will wear their Sunday best in celebration. I imagine that I will walk up the aisle to receive Communion with tears in my eyes.


Anticipate when we will once again see Jesus not through a screen but face to face.


Allow your heart to long for the Eucharist with a holy discomfort.


Hope with great expectations for a reunion that is yet to come.


What are you looking forward to the most?

134 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page